City election results tallied


De Smet has two new city council members following Tuesday’s municipal election. Incumbent Lowell ”Butch” Hansen  defeated challenger Dennis Towers for a seat in Ward I, and Pam Spader defeated Anthony Halverson for a seat in Ward II. Spader replaces Alex Botkin who did not seek reelection. Newcomer Shon Asleson was unopposed for a one-year seat in Ward III. He replaces Norm Whitaker. Incumbent George Cavanaugh was unopposed for a two-year seat in Ward II and begins his fourth term. Other council members include, Jay Slater who serves in Ward I And Bret Jensen, who serves in Ward II.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment