Local athletes earn football and volleyball honors



De Smet Bulldog football players earning honors this season include Kain Gilligan, top left, Rett Osthus, Ethan McCune, Alec Dobson, Kalen Garry and Colt Wilkinson.

Arlington/Lake Preston players are Carter Malone, Jasper Denison, Tate Larsen, Seth Madsen, Matthew Steffensen, Mason Bunker and Christopher Wallace.

Players named to the Dakota Valley Conference first team include Wilkinson, Osthus, Garry, Dobson, Denison, Larsen and Madsen. McCune, Gilligan and Wallace earned DVC honorable mention.

McCune was also named to the All-State first team, Madsen earned All-State at linebacker, and Garry earned All-State honorable mention.

McCune, Dobson and Malone earned Academic All-State honors. Academic All-State players must have a 3.5 or above grade-point average and have competed in a sport for at least three years. (Submitted photos)


De Smet Lady Bulldog Kennadi Buchholz, left, a junior, earned Dakota Valley Conference honors this season in volleyball. Sophomore Emma Albrecht received honorable mention. From Lake Preston, Holly Andrews, senior, earned All-Conference and Annika Nelson, junior, honorable mention.

De Smet Lady Bulldogs, junior Kennadi Buchholz, left, and sophomore Cori Birkel earned Lake Central Conference volleyball honors this season.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment