Athletic Awards Night bestows honors and scholarships

Duane and Julianne Stahl named Boosters of the Year recipients


On Monday night the De Smet Athletic Booster Club held their Athletic Awards Night at the De Smet Event Center. It was a well-attended event from school staff, coaches, players and their families.

The evening started with coaches recognizing their teams and announcing the selections for each teams’ awards. Every award went to well deserving players who gave their all for their teams this year. De Smet has some remarkable and outstanding athletes whom the community can be proud of. The athletes also serve as excellent role models for the younger students.

The Booster Club made their selection for the Boosters of the Year recipients. This year they chose a couple who have no kids of their own on any team but have adopted the team players as their own family. They have come to know the families of the players, on top of learning the players and familiarizing themselves with their numbers, their styles and their personalities. They are Bulldog fans through and through. Duane and Julianne Stahl were named as the Boosters of the Year Award recipients.

The Wilkinson family selected Kain Gilligan for the Bill Wilkinson Athletic Scholarship, a $1,000 scholarship.

The George Mollner Scholarship awards $1,000 to a senior boy and girl. George Mollner awarded a scholarship to Ethan McCune and one to Mackenzie Zell.

Three student athletes were selected for the Entringer Scholarship. Alec Dobson, Cody Cavanaugh and Ethan McCune were awarded a $1,000 scholarship by Pete Entringer.

The Marv McCune Memorial Scholarship was presented by the McCune family and awarded two $500 scholarships to Alec Dobson and Ethan McCune.

The Dakota Valley Conference Scholarship awarded a $300 scholarship to Noah Roth.

The last award of the night was the senior Athletes of the Year. For the girls, Mackenzie Zell was selected. The boys’ selection had a tie. Both Cody Cavanaugh and Ethan McCune were selected as the boys’ senior Athletes of the Year.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment