Prairie Lutheran Parish services have been cancelled for Feb. 14.
Norbert Moldan recently processed a grant application for the Campbell Straw Bale Museum with the South Dakota COVID Relief Fund. He received notice that the museum has been approved for a payment of $2,127. With the museum being closed the last year and no Straw Bale activities, this is a wonderful boost for the museum.
Mark and Lisa Hinkley of De Smet visited her mother, Harriet Hattervig, last Sunday and Wednesday.
According to the Carthage history book, “Carthage, Gem of the Redstone” by Sally Madison, the Carthage Independent School District had the first school library in Miner County. This was in 1888.
In 1915, it is noted that the state had a free circulating library for small towns, and the Carthage Improvement Association applied for the service. The books were located in Dr. Craft’s office with Mrs. Craft as librarian. In 1916, the Carthage Improvement Association voted to have a book shower for the library, and one Saturday in 1916, 52 books were loaned out.
In 1918, the library was located over the First National Bank and had loaned 195 books out that January. Seven hundred and thirty-four books were loaned out in October of 1931. Over the years, the library has been housed at several locations, including the house just west of the Nazarene parsonage —now owned by hunters— and at City Hall on Main Street (now the laundromat and public shower and restrooms.)
It is now located in the fire hall-community center-library building on Main Street with shelves of books for every age and interest. They even have a collection of jigsaw puzzles that can be checked out.