Trinity Lutheran Church will have worship Sept. 12 at 9:30 a.m., and a new year of Sunday School will kick off at 10:30. Visitors are always welcome. The women of ELCA will meet Thurs., Sept. 16 at 2 p.m. at Lorelee Nelson’s. Trinity Sunday School will begin Sept. 12 at 10:30 a.m.
Harriet Hattervig visited Mark and Lisa Hinkley in De Smet Sunday and joined them in visiting Charlene Peterson.
According to “Carthage, Gem of the Redstone” by Sally Madison, the first weary travelers settled on the bank of Redstone Creek and called their settlement Mabel. About four months later, it was renamed “Franklin.” Frank Ward came to Dakota Territory in 1882. The land he bought was the piece of land that became the little city of what is now Carthage.
The original buildings were located on the banks of Redstone Creek, but with the coming of the railroad, it was found that a better location was to be had. The buildings were moved to the present location, and Carthage soon became known as the Gem of the Redstone.